# Rakino Ratepayers Association

Minutes of AGM

Sunday 30 January 2022, 10:00am

**Location: Rakino Community Hall** 

**Present:** 

Stephen Thomas (ST) Chris Clews (CC) David Mahon (DM) Natasha Holland (NH) Elisabeth Easther (EE) Rod Inglis (RI) **Apologies:** Bev and Hank

## 1. Welcome / Apologies

CC opened the meeting with welcome and apologies. Interrupted by Kevin Wragge (KW) who moved that all meetings be electronically recorded. Motion not seconded, motion failed.

### 2. Approval by meeting to the extension of the AGM meeting date and agenda

CC acknowledged correspondence received that the notification deadline and criteria for nominations were not met. There was also a reminder that while the correspondence contained some good ideas, there was no tolerance for abusive correspondence, and that this was a committee of volunteers answerable to the community. CC moved to accept that the process had fallen outside of the constitution, and that with the support of those present the meeting could move on. Seconded by Jude MacLachlan. Motion passed.

#### 3. Confirmation of past Minutes of General Meeting held 1 December 2021

Minutes from the Zoom meeting were provided via email and accepted by EE.

### 3. Finances

ST presented with very little activity occurring since the last meeting.

- 1. A donation to Westpac Helicopter was made.
- 2. Subs collected were up.

## 4. General Business

- John Mackenzie was confirmed as Environmental Officer but was unavailable to present the update on Controlled Planting. NH emailed (as requested by Lisa West in her absence) to the members the Hauraki Gulf Controlled Planting doc. NH/EE spoke briefly on this matter.
- KW moved that the constitution be changed. Motion not seconded. Motion failed.
- Hall Update. ST advised committee had met with John Nash at Auckland Council with the two options (new build, and reworking of existing hall). A proposal has been issued to council. A meeting with Facilities was due, followed by a Board presentation 9 February. CC questioned whether Rakino should have a representative on the local board. Troy Holland requested the committee provide an update following the February 9 meeting.
- Marine Environment Update. EE advised the presentation given in the hall on January 15 was available
  on video. The level of commitment to change by those in attendance was described as high. A sub committee is to be formed.
- Lisa West proposed by mail a motion to wind up the RRA. As she was absent and there was no one
  representing the motion, it was not seconded, but CC requested that this was included in the minutes
  and will be raised at the next meeting to be held in April of which hopefully LW can attend to raise her
  motion.
- Acknowledgement was made of the plaque that was presented to Colin Maclaren in recognition of his
  40 years of service to Rakino running the annual fun run. Colin's hard work and rich contribution to the
  community is appreciated and there was a desire to find a way to acknowledge his work as the
  publisher of the Rakino News. Thank you Colin.
- David Parker gave an update on the Resilience Plan and the formation of a sub committee to address issues raised. The printed document that has been compiled by Jo and Clare was shown to the

# Rakino Ratepayers Association

community and advised that they will be delivered to the community over the coming weekends by the Fire Resilience team.

- CC moved that abusive correspondence would be blocked in future and that no emails regarding RRA
  were to be sent to a committee member's personal email address. If such behaviour then continued, the
  offending member could be ejected from the RRA. The standard for what constituted abuse was
  clarified in that all committee members must be unanimous in agreeing that the correspondence was
  abusive. Seconded by Stacey Thomas. Motion passed.
- Troy Holland queried the project to distribute welcome packs to new residents. CC acknowledged that it was in the works.
- **5.** Election/Re-confirmation of RRA Committee members

A call was made for any other members who wished to join the committee. NH expressed interest on behalf of Hugo Gibbs. NH nominated and David Mahon seconded.

EE and DM both resigned citing the abuse and toxic correspondence received during their tenure. CC moved to re-elect the remaining current committee members and Hugo. Phil Webb seconded. Motion passed.

The meeting closed at 11:48 am.